Posted on

Label Reading & the FDA

Its India, & we know the public seriousness in foods & awareness is minimal… So need to doubly check the things !!

The only treatment for someone diagnosed with celiac disease is a strict gluten-free diet. This may seem hard at first because many common foods contain gluten. However, there are many naturally gluten-free foods as well as plenty of gluten-free substitutes to choose from.

A close up of an ingredients list that contains ingredients with gluten.

How To Tell If A Packaged Food Product Is Gluten-Free

  1. A gluten-free label. If a product claims to be gluten-free on the package, then it is most likely safe to eat as the FDA only allows packaged foods with less than 20ppm of gluten to be labeled “gluten-free.” However, you should still check the ingredients list. It is also important to remember that “wheat-free” does not necessarily mean “gluten-free.”
  2. Check the allergen listing. Some packaging has a list of common allergens found in the product. Such allergens include wheat, soy, egg, nuts, and milk. This list can be a quick way to rule something out if the package says: “contains wheat.” However, a lack of allergen labeling does NOT mean that the product is gluten-free. Barley and rye are not in the top eight allergens required to be listed. Be sure to check the ingredients list for other hidden sources of gluten.
  3. Check for obvious ingredients.
    1. Wheat
    2. Barley
    3. Rye
    4. Malt
    5. Brewer’s yeast
    6. Oats (unless specifically labeled gluten-free)

If there is not a “gluten-free” label on the product packaging, read the ingredients label thoroughly. Check for hidden or questionable ingredients. Some ingredients have the potential to contain gluten.